Black River Rapid Fingerless Mitts

29 11 2010

So I made myself a pair of socks out of a skein of Malabrigo Sock yarn a while ago, and ended up with roughly 120 extra yards of yarn left over. In the middle of the “Christmas Hat Project,” (which I’ll explain another time, but for now just accept that I’ve been making a lot of individualised hats,) I returned to the leftover yardage in search of a quick and hat-distracting project. After scanning Ravelry for fingerless mitt patterns, I couldn’t find one that ‘clicked’ with whatever knitting mood I was in at the time. So I decided to set out on that very scary expedition… and designed my own pattern. I think it worked out pretty well, I’m partial to the finished product. I’m in the process of turning my notes into a real written pattern that other people can understand, although this is my first attempt at writing a pattern, and really, I’m finding that the knitting part of the whole endeavour was way easier. Here are some basic photos of the mitts, I’ll find someone else to model them for me later…nothing like trying to take a picture and model at the same time.

So here is the pattern: Keep in mind, its my first one ever.

Black River Rapid Fingerless Mitts

 

Malabrigo Sock Yarn (or any fingering weight yarn of your choice)

2.5 DPNS or circulars

Yarn Needle

Cable Needle

 

M1 – I lifted and twisted the bar between the stitches from the row below, you can use whatever method you like to increase the stitches.

 

For both Left and Right Mitten

C/O 52 stitches, divide evenly over dpns and join for working in the round, be careful not to twist.

 

Work (k2, P2) ribbing for one inch.

 

Left Mitten

 

Row 1: K24, *slip next 2 stitches onto cable needle and hold in front of work, knit the next 4 stitches, then knit the 2 from cable needle, K2* 3 times, knit to end of round.

 

Rows 2-6: Knit all stitches

 

Row 7: K24, *slip next 2 stitches onto cable needle and hold in front of work, knit the next 4 stitches, then knit the 2 from cable needle, K2* 3 times, knit to end of round.

 

Rows 8-12: Knit all stitches

 

Row 13: K8, M1, K1, M1, K23, *slip next 2 stitches onto cable needle and hold in front of work, knit the next 4 stitches, then knit the 2 from cable needle, K2* 2 times, knit to end of round.

 

Row 14: Knit all stitches

 

Row 15: K8, M1, K3, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 16: Knit all stitches

 

Row 17: K8, M1, K5, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 18: Knit all stitches

 

Row 19: K8, M1, K7, M1, K31, slip next 2 stitches onto cable needle and hold in front of work, knit the next 4 stitches, then knit the 2 from cable needle, K2, knit to end of round.

 

Row 20: Knit all stitches

 

Row 21: K8, M1, K9, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 22: Knit all stitches

 

Row 23: K8, M1, K11, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 24: Knit all stitches

 

Row 25: K8, M1, K13, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 26: Knit all stitches

 

Row 27: K8, M1, K15, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 28: Knit all stitches

 

Row 29: K8, M1, K17, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Row 30: Knit all stitches

 

Row 31: K8, M1, K19, M1, Knit to end of round

 

Knit all stitches until the thumb gusset reaches the first knuckle on your thumb. Slide 21 stitches of thumb gusset (the stitches created with the M1s) onto a spare circular needle, piece of thread, or a stitch holder.

 

Next Row: Knit to end of round, and increase 1 stitch (52sts for hand) (I hid the increase near the thumb gusset on the inside of palm.)

 

Row 32: K40, *slip next 2 stitches onto cable needle and hold in front of work, knit the next 4 stitches, then knit the 2 from cable needle, K2* knit to end of round.

 

Row 33-37: Knit all stitches

 

Row 38: K40, *slip next 2 stitches onto cable needle and hold in front of work, knit the next 4 stitches, then knit the 2 from cable needle, K2* knit to end of round.

 

Row 39: (K2, P2) to end of round.

Continue working in ribbing for one inch, or until desired length.

Cast off using whatever method you prefer. I did: K2tog, slip stitch from right needle back onto left needle, knit it together with next stitch, continue until all stitches are off.

 

Thumb: Place stitches back onto dpns, knit round, making sure to pick up and twist 3 stitches from the inside of hand where it joins for the thumb. You should now have 24 stitches for thumb. Work (K2, P2) ribbing for one inch. Cast off.

 

Right Mitten

Row 1: K4, *slip 4 stitches onto cable needle and hold in back of work, K2, then K4 stitches off cable needle, K2* 3 times, knit to end of round

 

Row s 2-6: Knit all stitches

 

Row 7: K4, *slip 4 stitches onto cable needle and hold in back of work, K2, then K4 stitches off cable needle, K2* 3 times, knit to end of round

 

Rows 8-12: Knit all stitches

 

Row 13: K4, *slip 4 stitches onto cable needle and hold in back of work, K2, then K4 stitches off cable needle, K2* 2 times, K23, M1, K1, M1, K8 (54)

 

Row 14: Knit all stitches

 

Row 15: K43, M1, K3, M1, K8 (56)

 

Row 16: Knit all stitches

 

Row 17: K43, M1, K5, M1, K8 (58)

 

Row 18: Knit all stitches

 

Row 19: K4, *slip 4 stitches onto cable needle and hold in back of work, K2, then K4 stitches off cable needle, K2* once, K31, M1, K7, M1, K8 (60)

 

Row 20: Knit all stitches

 

Row 21: K43, M1, K9, M1, K8 (62)

 

Row 22: Knit all stitches

 

Row 23: K43, M1, K11, M1, K8 (64)

 

Row 24: Knit all stitches

 

Row 25: K43, M1, K13, M1, K8 (68)

 

Row 26: Knit all stitches

 

Row 27: K43, M1, K15, M1, K8 (70)

 

Row 28: Knit all stitches

 

Row 29: K43, M1, K17, M1, K8 (72)

 

Row 30: Knit all stitches

 

Row 31: K43, M1, K19, M1, K8 (74)

 

Knit all stitches until the thumb gusset reaches the first knuckle on your thumb. Slide 21 stitches of thumb gusset (the stitches created with the M1s) onto a spare circular needle, piece of thread, or a stitch holder.

 

Next Row: Knit to end of round, and increase 1 stitch (52sts for hand) (I hid the increase near the thumb gusset on the inside of palm.)

 

Row 32: K4, slip 4 stitches onto cable needle and hold in back of work, K2, then K4 stitches off cable needle, K2 once, knit to end of round

 

Row 33-37: Knit all stitches

 

Row 38: K4, slip 4 stitches onto cable needle and hold in back of work, K2, then K4 stitches off cable needle, K2 once, knit to end of round

 

Row 39: (K2, P2) to end of round.

Continue working in ribbing for one inch, or until desired length.

Cast off using whatever method you prefer.

 

Thumb (Worked the same as for left glove): Place stitches back onto dpns, knit round, making sure to pick up and twist 3 stitches from the inside of hand where it joins for the thumb. You should now have 24 stitches for thumb. Work (K2, P2) ribbing for one inch. Cast off.  Weave in ends, wear and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

12 responses

30 12 2010
Spesh

Awesome, awesome. I was hunting for some mitts too, and it took me a while to find these. They’re perfect. <3

30 12 2010
leighmcdonna

Spesh,
Thank you so much, let me know if you find any problems with the pattern, it’s my first one.
Leigh

1 01 2011
selley

hi leigh, right
so well your directions were very helpful
i was just wondering if you knew any way to knit these type of gloves without rounds or circular needles? if u dont thats ok. just wonderin’

4 01 2011
leighmcdonna

Hi Selley,
Thanks for your comment!
Um…although I’m not sure, I tend to switch patterns that involve sewing to be worked in the round as thats my preference. But I hope this helps somewhat: I’m fairly sure you could knit the body of the work flat just by working the stitches as written for right side rows, and doing the opposite for wrong side rows. Work the thumb increases as written and then slide those stitches onto a stitch holder and knit them after the rest of the glove part is completed…and then just seam up the sides. Perhaps slipping the first stitch of every row would make the sewing at the end easier.
Leigh

5 01 2011
Paige

I knit the left one up just fine, and while I don’t like the yarn I chose very much, it fits well. I’m working on the right mitt and the numbers don’t match up and don’t really make sense.

For one, row 13 does not have the right number of stitches: k6, 16 for cables, k9, 1, 12 totals 44 not 52…. I also don’t understand why the rows are not just the mirror image of the left, for example for row 1 on left we have k24, cables for 24 sts, k4 but for the right it’s k6, cables for 24 sts, k 22? Is the shift on purpose? In any case, there’s something fishy going on with row 13 on the right side as the increases don’t match up with the next row (row 15). Can you clarify?

8 01 2011
leighmcdonna

You are absolutely right, something fishy was is going on! It happens to have something to do with my lack of math skills. I’ve updated the pattern to have the correct numbers so that nothing in shifting.

Thanks for you comment, and sorry about the delay, I was trying to knit them up just to make sure I hadn’t missed anything else.

7 02 2011
Emilie

I started making these a couple days ago for my husband and I’m having a hard time wrapping my brain around how what I have so far will become gloves large enough for him. (I’m on row 31). Are these meant for really small hands?

7 02 2011
leighmcdonna

Hi Emilie,

I design the mitts to fit my own hands, which are about a small to medium size in women’s sizes. You could potentially go up a size or two in needles, or alternatively, if you think that looks too open, you could add stitches to the palm and top of hand sections before and after the cables, making sure that if you do change the number of stitches casting on that your ribbing is still even. You would also increase a few extra stitches in the thumb gusset, meaning that you would work a few extra rounds of plain knitting and m1s following the established pattern.

I hope this helps.
I’m excited that you’re making them for your husband. I’d love to see a picture of them when you finish.

Leigh

27 10 2011
Valerie

Hi Leigh,
I just came across this pattern via Knitting Paradise and a link to Pattern Central. I love fingerless mitts and have made 3 pairs for daughters and niece. I want to make some for myself because I find my hands are cold on the steering wheel in this cool fall weather. I have tons of sock yarn so this suits me perfectly. I just want to clarify on the DPN size. Which scale are you using, i.e. metric, US…? I’m guessing these are for 2.5 mm DPNs.
Thank you,
Valerie

28 10 2011
leighmcdonna

Hi!

I do mean 2.5mm dpns. Sorry, it was my first pattern so I was a little out of practice with the details. If you find anything else let me know!

Happy Knitting!

Leigh

2 11 2011
betty crist

Is this the corrected pattern?

3 11 2011
leighmcdonna

Hi Betty,

It should be, I corrected the original and edited it on the blog. If you find any problems though, let me know.

Thanks,
Leigh

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

