Baby it’s cold out there…

I have been incredibly thankful for all my woolen goodies over the last couple days. The snows and cold winds have finally found their way to Toronto, and my mittens, socks, hats, and scarves, have made all the difference to my normally frozen toes and fingers. I’ve also been pretty pleased with my assortment of fingerless gloves while at work. They keep my hands warm when I need to use my fingers.
I’ve been pressed to get all my hats done for Christmas, and I’ve finally finished the second Windschief by Stephen West. I still have four left to go. I finished this last one while at work. As a supply teacher, I’ve begun to find myself with periods of time with nothing to do, so yesterday I braved the possibility of scowls, and brought out my knitting to get the hat done. One gentleman, who I generally like, asked me if I was expecting children. At first I was confused. I took the comment in the context I was in. I thought he was asking me if I was expecting the students to come to class.
Then it dawned on me, he was asking if I was pregnant, because I was knitting. Something about knitting apparently screamed expectant motherhood to him. He did tell me he was only teasing, but probably only because I might not have been able to completely conceal my aghast and slightly miffed reaction. That brought me to thinking about knitting stereotypes, which I think that every young contemporary knitting enthusiast probably reflects on at one point or another.
I used to get teased a bit about my knitting habits by my friends and family, and sometimes I was called a granny, but all mostly in jest. Most people my age or my parents age, that discover that I made the mittens, or socks, or hats, or scarves that I wore, usually think it’s odd, but unique that I can create something.
My family, (read mother), used to get annoyed by my habit of spending money on wool, or spending time knitting rather than writing my essays. Now I’ve found, that instead of being an oddity, it’s turning into a commodity. I am not making money from this, but I have been able to put time and effort into creating gifts for other people. Friends of mine now ask me if I could make them a (fill in the blank), or my mother asks me to make all sorts of things, (hats at present.) It’s a change from the old reaction that knitting was for old ladies.
I love how much knitting is not for old ladies anymore. Many of the amazing patterns kicking about are not designed by grannies; young and talented male and female designers create them.  I was very happy the other day, while supply teaching, when I spotted a very much hand knit scarf and fingerless glove set on one of the students.

Leave a Reply

