Sickness, Soup and Sock knitting

Happy New Year Everyone!

So, since Christmas I have been a little ill, which means I haven’t had the energy to participate in any sort of festive fun since Christmas day. But it has meant that I have been able to do a little selfish knitting project of my own after all the hats. Months ago, I purchased two skeins of Malabrigo Sock in the colourway Lettuce to make a baby blanket for an expecting friend. I’ve discovered, if I am to be honest…I’m not really a fan of knitting baby blankets. I realize that they are small, not as big as if I were to make an afghan or something, but it was pretty boring going as the pattern I chose was just done in a basket weave type stitch pattern. Anyway, to save my mind, I switched to a worsted weight yarn, and that was that.

So, I had this additional Malabrigo Sock Yarn. The first skein of Malabrigo I used to make Damson by Ysolda Teague. The project is on my Ravelry account projects page as Hoodedfang’s Damson. And now being sick, I’ve decided I would make myself a pair of socks with the remaining skein. I chose Eunice by Cookie A. from her pattern book Sock Innovation. Really the knitting was wonderful, I really like the cables and the colour, and the first one fit perfectly. Actually so does the second one. I think you may be able to sense that there is a ‘but’ coming along.

But…I’ve been knitting, while mostly lying down…and watching BBC Period Drama’s on Netfix…see if you can spot the difference..

.

Absolutely right…I forgot to cable on the second to last repeat of the pattern chart on my second sock! What a knob I am…and I didn’t notice til I had finished it. Now I have to undo the Kitchener Stitch, and rip back, carefully. I’m still sick, by the way, so mostly I am inclined just to leave them as they are, since they’re for me…but really! How disappointing?

Leave a Reply

