The Supply Hat

Having just embarked on my teaching career…the first step of which has been supply teaching…I have become very thankful for my status as a knitter. I’ve discovered that supply teaching is at once hectic, uncertain, stressful…and…at times, boring. I’ve liked it so far, the ability to visit different schools, talk to different people in the profession, meet different students, and see the different ways is which schools function. I have however…discovered that “prep”, while very helpful for classroom teachers to get lessons organized, to finish marking, or to focus on personal professional development, is often long…and boring for me. I think part of it has to do with my own natural anxiety about what I should really be doing, or my unconscious nervousness about the next class, in which I fear that the students might decide to mutiny against me.

Anyway, I’ve finally braved bringing out my knitting to pass the time, despite the raised eyebrows it might bring about in the offices. (I think mostly I imagine the eyebrow raises.) I’ve come up with this hat pattern, I’ve called it “The Supply Hat” because I created while sitting at a desk during prep. I hope you enjoy it!


The Pattern: The Supply Hat

Materials

1 Skein Malabrigo Rios

4.5 circular needles

Stitch Marker

Yarn Needle

 

Instructions

Cast On 76 stitches and join for working in the round, be careful not to twist.

 

Work K1, P1, ribbing for 2-3 inches.

 

Round 1: Knit around.

Round 2: Purl around.

Round 3-4: *P2, K2* around.

 

Repeat rounds 2-4 until hat measures 7 inches from cast on edge, be sure to end on a round 4.

 

Next Round: *P2tog, P2* around.

Next Two Rounds: *P1, K2* around.

Next Round: *P2tog, P1* around.

Next Two Rounds: Knit around.

Next Round: P2tog around.

Next Two Rounds: Knit around.

Next Round: P2tog to last 3 stitches, P3tog.

 

Break yarn six inches from end and using yarn needle, pull through remaining stitches. Weave in all ends – voila!

 

Leigh

 

Leave a Reply

